Dorian Gray

“Behind every exquisite thing that existed, there was something tragic.” – Oscar Wilde, The Picture of Dorian Gray
 
I like this quote because of all the mystery and secrets that it suggests. There are so many high class citizens in the world who have such scadalous family secrets or pasts. I like it because it reveals the way a lot of people think. Everyone is hurting on the inside for some reason or another. People always have a tragic past. I feel the way Wilde words this is beautiful. I love his diction – exquisite, existed, tragic… They all flow well together. It’s smooth, it’s effective, it’s thought provoking. I enjoy it all. I think it can give anyone a lot to think about. It definitely makes me look back on my life and think if it has been as tragic as I sometimes feel like it is – and of course it’s not. I’ve been so blessed!
One thought on “Dorian Gray

  1. Yeah a lot of terrible things happen in peoples lives. But no matter how hard you get knocked down you gotta get back up!! Like a famous person once said…”The world ain’t all sunshine and rainbows. It’s a very mean and nasty place, and I don’t care how tough you are, it will beat you to your knees and keep you there permanently if you let it. You, me, or nobody is gonna hit as hard as life. But it ain’t about how hard you hit. It’s about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward; how much you can take and keep moving forward. That’s how winning is done!.” Always be positive and surround yourself with good people and you can make it through anything!

Leave a Thought, Opinion, Impression...

