The House of the Lord

Well kids,

It’s official. I have officially been to the temple! It was amazing. The feelings felt there are unlike any other. It was such a beautiful, sacred experience! I am so thankful for it!

I was pretty nervous. There is just a lot of build up to going to the temple. Ya know? If you were raised in the gospel like me, it’s been a destination/goal you’ve been told to make since you were a kid! We sang about it in primary, we worked towards it in young women’s by doing personal progress, we talk about the importance of temple marriage in a singles ward… Everything about the gospel of Jesus Christ revolves around being worthy to enter into the presence of the Lord. So now that the time has come, I was pretty anxious. I wasn’t sure what to expect, I didn’t have my dad there (he’s working in North Dakota), and the thought of finally seeing what has been talked about for YEARS was mind blowing.

I am so lucky to have friends who love me! I had my BEST FRIEND, Brooke R., drive all the way from Rexburg to be there! I had Tiana M., Mallory R., David B., Sally S., my Bishop and his wife, my parents home teachers, and of course my mom. Now, you’re probably wondering where the heck my sister and her husband are? Me too. We were sitting in the temple, our session was about to begin, and more and more people kept coming in… but still no sister or brother. Finally – they closed the doors and that was it. My mom looked at me – panicked! – and I just sat there. I didn’t feel upset, I didn’t cry, I didn’t move. I just sat. I think after feeling so nervous, I had no more energy left. Plus the spirit in the temple is so strong and calming, I just thought to myself, “Well we can go to our own session next week”.

When our session was over, we went out to our car and took a picture. Image

It was just me and mom left at that point – plus David B. so he took the photo.

When I finally had the chance to call my sister, she was nearly in tears. She explained that their temple recommends had expired SEVEN DAYS PRIOR and there simply was no way for them to enter the temple. She said she had called my dad, bawling her head off, all the way from the temple to her in-laws house (a good 20 minute drive) and then continued to cry a little more there. And still – I didn’t panic that she had missed my first session in the temple. I think it was because this wasn’t going to be my most holy and sacred experience… Yes – the first time entering the house of the Lord is VERY sacred and VERY special, it just didn’t feel complete without my dad, my sister, my older brother, or my brother in law there. I was happy to be there, but I want all of them there with me too.

I hope everyone strives to be worthy to enter the Lord’s presence. It is incredible. I love knowing that I can enter the Temple any time I need now! It is amazing. Strive to live your life in accordance to commandments of the Lord; you will be eternally happy and blessed!

I’ll be seeing you,

— Moe Joy

Leave a Thought, Opinion, Impression...

