June 10, 2013 another letter on same day to Moe

Dear Sister Stockinger,

Hoping you might get to see this still today. I’m absolutely devastated about Sister Hunts trainer going home! It’s made me cry. No no no, she can’t do that! If she hasn’t left, call and talk her out of it! Poor Sister Hunt. That’s gotta be hard. I’m glad you and your comp are getting along better. The time will come when you will miss her believe it or not.

Lemon juice drink … Use half a fresh lemon in a cup of hot water first thing in the morning. I heat up the tea pot. I don’t put anything in it. If you can stand it, two hours before leaving apt drink down two tblsp extra virgin olive oil with half a lemon. That’s what’s really supposed to flush the toxins from your bile and liver. Sister Alder did it faithfully and look at all the weight she lost. Otherwise at breakfast drink the hot lemon. Then drink a fruit smoothie if you have a blender. Half a banana, 4 oz almond milk, berries, 4 ice cubes, ground flaxseeds if you can get it, I put a packet of emergen-c in, and I like to add grapes and orange sometimes but not part of original recipe. I now make my own almond milk and like it so much better. Super easy but you may not have time and you need a powerful blender. Soak 1 cup raw almonds in 4 cups of water six to eight hours or overnight. Drain the water, put almonds in blender with 4 cups of new water,  and blend til creamy. then strain using a nut bag but I’ve just been using a turkey stuffing bag. catch all the almond milk into a bowl. return milk to blender and add about four medjool soft dates, 2 tsp vanilla extract, and 1/8 tsp salt. Blend til dates are completely broken down then store in fridge. I pour mine into glass canning jars. Chill and enjoy!

Since you’re trying to give up ice cream, once again you need a good powerful blender (maybe someone in ward would let you come over on pday and make these up), uncle Daryl and I have loved this recipe…choco peanut butter banana milkshake. 1 frozen banana (peel it and break in pieces and put in Baggie in freezer), 3-4 oz almond milk, 1 tbsp cocoa powder, 1/8 cup natural peanut butter, pinch of salt, 1 tsp vanilla, about 4 ice cubes. Throw all ingredients into blender til smooth and creamy. TOTALLY like the real thing! And totally healthy! I’m dying to try a cauliflower pizza crust that everyone says is to die for.

Another healthy snack I enjoy is greek pita flatbread, spread hummus on it, top with sautéed veggies or could do fresh. TOTALLY love it. Course, I make my own hummus now…only made from chickpeas and they’re like 70 cents a can. So much cheaper, but once again, time.

Brother Hunt brought huge grocery bags stuffed with homegrown lettuce to church and dad got us one. And Sister Luke had me get some from her garden the end of last week cuz they’ll be out of town. Dad and I have really been craving salads lately. I often like to thinly slice zucchini into my salads instead of cucumbers or use both!

All in all, I say follow the word of wisdom. It is truly inspired. My old set of scriptures from my young adult days or early marriage are marked up with all kinds of notes and cross referencing about the word of wisdom. Am in the process of redoing it all into my larger scriptures. We truly lie in a day and age of conspiring men who truly don’t have our healthy best interest at hand. So much wisdom too from prophets telling us to grow a garden…. Course, I still struggle trying to eat different from the rest of the family and be strong….

So don’t you and comp try to do some type of exercise early in the morning? Course, sounds like you’re getting lots of walking in.

Well, enough. Know I love you and am proud of you. If anything, I am extremely pleased with your personal growth thus far and appreciate you sharing with us. The atonement truly is a miracle into ones life. I remember teaching it on my mission but still couldn’t wrap myself with total understanding of the concept. That didn’t come til years later when I got to go through some trials that then gave me a personal understanding of the atonement. Continue losing yourself in the work. Thanks again for your inspiration and I will try to have us all do better at home. I just so want my boys to be strengthening their testimonies, be willing to share in testimony mtg, and be prepared for a mission. It is hard but so worth it. The gospel is amazing and we are so richly blessed.

All my love,

Mom

Leave a Thought, Opinion, Impression...

