Moe’s Letter – November 18, 2013

MEGAN HAD HER BABY!?! Oh my gosh… oh my gosh! It’s a good thing this is an email – otherwise you’d see all my tears staining the paper! Crap… I knew Jackson would be born before I got home, but still. Haha! I’m so bummed I missed it… He’s gonna be huge by the time I get to snuggle him. Shoot. Y’all better kiss him for me! And smell him (: hahaha DID ANYONE ELSE notice his initials? JSH? Ha… I love it.

This week has been one to really test me… When it rains, it pours. Ya know what I mean? I told y’all how I said goodbye to my friends, well – stinking Sister Tuigamala had an extra week here because of flights. Ya know – getting back to Samoa… It’s not like flying to Utah or Idaho. haha so I got to talk to her a little more and such. Blessing and a curse; I miss her so much. I sobbed last night when she got to the mission home and called one last time! Maaan… It was rough. Count my blessings: I’m lucky to have known her! She’s pretty awesome.

Sister Clegg is one of the most hilarious people I’ve ever met. She’s very quiet but she can pick at me! Ohh man. I love her. The poor girl! She had to come to the country after being in ghetto Beaumont. I took her out to Dam B and Odomville one day. She had to sit through a lesson watching a dog chew up a rabbit. Then she had to deal with a dead deer… We were talking to Gordon and Marilyn as he was skinning it. BUT we get to keep the hooves! Hooves? Hoves? Hoof… What the weird? I hope you know what I’m trying to say. hahaha It’s little feet. We get to keep the feet. Gordon cut them off and is drying them out for us. I’m trying to figure out if I can turn it into a keychain… ya know, like a lucky rabbit’s foot? haha yeehaw country!

Woodville is a retired community. Everyone is old. No – they’re ancient. They’re all about to die. Poor grandpa Kenneth, evon, and aunt Sylvia… they’re all pretty much dead. It’s sad. Then every person we meet is super old – set in their ways and terrible health. Everyone thinks that the good Lord has already saved them and is almost ready to bring them home! I just shake my head…

We got a new investigator this week! His name is Allan. He’s old. I’m not sure how this is going to go; he forgets things quickly. And he tells the same stories over and over again… But he’s precious. haha! He feels very close to Christ because he got stabbed in his side during a difficult time in his life. So naturally – he lifted up his shirt to show us the scar. Ew… People are so comfortable with us. I love it?

There’s a less active whose daughter is dying. She has melanoma :/ It was awful – she kept talking about it and I was crying, she was crying, and sister clegg had no idea what to do. But ya know – after grandpa and my friend Amy, I just don’t do skin cancer talk very well. It’s vicious. I hate it. But what do ya do?

Now – this has become the most depressing letter. But there’s a point to it – I promise! As I’ve been meeting with all these people, and listening to everyone’s woes, it’s made me realize how thankful I am to be a part of the gospel. Well – to be active in the gospel. Satan is so good at making people run around looking for some magic cure. He is one clever guy… But we’ve been reading the gospels as a mission. Reading about the life of Christ each morning is amazing. Ya know – sitting in Woodville, surrounded by trees, incredible sunrise, having a comin’ to Jesus talk (: I could do this every day for the rest of my life! But yes – reading about Christ, then going out and meeting these people who swear on their life THEY KNOW CHRIST (and I don’t doubt it!) but don’t really want live like they know Christ… It’s tough. But I love it. Also – in 1 Nephi 21:16… Oh man. I love it. It doesn’t get any more personal than that!

Sister Clegg and I met a super cool black girl at Walmart today. She started talking about how her church isn’t really a family church. Then she was all, “I don’t even know why I go there!” So that was cool. We got her number. Hopefully that works out…

Basically – this week has been a long one. We were blessed to meet a lot of less actives who’s names got sent back to the branch from SLC. I love these people. They are so good! They’re just confused.

I miss y’all and love y’all! Thanks for all the prayers and love! 

— Sister Stockinger

 

Leave a Thought, Opinion, Impression...

