Moe’s Letter – I LOVE TEXAS! – October 6, 2014

 I got to go on exchanges with a greenie sister in Beaumont, Sister Del Bosque. She’s adorable! We had a lot of fun. We got to teach a guy who seems solid, but not very sincere… if that makes sense. His wife is dying and she used to be Mormon. He pulled her from the LDS church and made her Baptist, but now he has regrets. He says she was always happiest when she was Mormon, so that’s what she needs to die as. But he wants to be baptized… but doesn’t seem sincere… I don’t know. It was weird. But it was a great exchange nonetheless. We got much accomplished!
Jonathan is doing excellent. His mind is retaining things much better now. He is ready and set for his baptismal interview this Wednesday! I am so excited for him. It has been the journey of a lifetime seeing this boy progress. His life has been so hard, but he has LIT UP as he’s kept his commitments! He even woke up in a bad mood one morning and decided to read the book of Mormon. he said it turned his day around! (: it was so cute. I am so proud of him! He is so ready.
Vicky is… not currently meeting with us… so we’re having to let her go :/ that woman. She’s so close, then so far.
We went and did our service at the Silsbee Oaks nursing home. It breaks my heart to do in room visits with some of those folks 😦 they’re so lonely! I don’t know if I mentioned this lady before… but we visit an old Pentecostal lady, Helen. She sings the cutest praise songs! Haha I love her. But she is so weepy… the poor woman. She is so depressed! So we visit with her, sing with/to her, and share scriptures. She is VERY well versed in the bible. Whoa! She’s got them all packed up in her brain. It’s so cute to hear her quote stuff… and interpret stuff… wrong… (: haha but oh well. She’ll get it figured out eventually. We’re just there to visit, not to preach. But she let me record her singing my favorite song that she has shared with me! It’s adorable. I can’t wait to share it with everyone!
Conference was AMAZING! I had so many questions answered and direction given. I loved Bednar’s talk. It made me wish that every nonmember in the whole world was tuned in! The story of his boys… Oh man. I was rolling. And Holland? Wow. I cried as he described our sweet, sweet President Monson walking through the airport in his house slippers! Oh man – it still gets me. We are SO BLESSED! We are so blessed to be a part of this gospel and have all the luxuries we need at our dispense.
I finished the book of Mormon again on the 1st. It was AMAZING, of course. It has me all ready to take on the world and share it with everyone! Yeah! I wish everyone would just take one, read it, love it, and get baptized. Man! It felt so good to feel the holy ghost confirm to me, once again, that it is the holy word of God. That spirit… it’s incredible. I can’t imagine life without it.
I had to begin my goodbyes this week… I’ve had all my favorite families from Silsbee lined up on the dinner calendar, so I had to start taking pictures and saying goodbye 😦 ahhhh! It’s awful.
I honestly don’t have much else to report. We’ve had tons of rain… we’ve met lots of people… we’ve done our best to be the Lord’s servants. It’s been great.
I just love my mission sooo much. I feel beyond happy with the time I’ve spent here. My heart is ready to burst with the love and joy I’ve gained! I just…. wow. I just don’t even know how to describe it.
I am so thankful for all the love, support, prayers, fasting, packages, emails, handwritten just-because notes, goodies, and tears of joy and pain that may have been, and have been offered up on my behalf over the past 18 months. It makes me cry to think of how many people have supported me out here. And to think, I’m just one missionary! There are so many families who sacrifice and save for years… I am so thankful that I was able to make the decision, to do it, and for my family and friends who backed me 100%
I love y’all! See y’all soon! THE CHURCH IS TRUE!
— Sister Stockinger

Leave a Thought, Opinion, Impression...