Moe’s letter – March 17, 2014

This week has been a good one… We started off by meeting with Monika Monday night. Three doors down from her is a member, so we dropped in to see if she’d walk down with us. So sister banda dropped what she was doing and came along! It was great. Sister Banda has been a member for a little over a year. She and her family just got sealed last November! It’s so great(: So she came and she said everything we needed her to. She talked about how it’s okay to be open to change, that reading the book of mormon will change your life, and that coming to church is what will really help. We didn’t even have time to prep her! She totally listened to the spirit. When it was all done, I think Monika’s heart was softened a bit more (but not all the way!) so we sang to her “how great thou art” again. She cried, like usual.

We haven’t been able to see Nona for a couple weeks now. She has a lot of health problems apparently… Monika doesn’t tell us the specifics, but we kinda know what’s going on. So, it’s a bummer…

We were able to have a lot of members out with us this week. It’s so great when they make the time! Members testimonies really do make the difference (as you can see with Monika).

We’ve been stressed all week about transfers. On Friday we had a lovely surprise… The assistants called us and said they needed to meet us at our apartment. Err… what? They needed to drop off a bed. Why? Because Summerwood is going to be a trio! AHHH! So we had to rearrange our whole apartment. It looks like an orphanage. There’s hardly any space between all the beds! But it’s kind of fun. haha. Sister Stofferahn and I made a firm agreement that whoever was coming in, we would love her. We wouldn’t shun her from this great companionship that we’ve had. haha trios are hard…

We went and dropped by a family who I had met a couple weeks ago. Melissa and Tim Stahl! They live right next to some members, the Perry’s. Sister Perry went with us to their house Saturday morning. It was AMAZING. Probably one of the best lessons we’ve had in a long time. They read the pamphlets, had tons of questions, listened intently… The spirit was so strong. At the end of the lesson, Tim said the prayer. I wanted to cry. It was A GOOD PRAYER! He asked Heavenly Father to be open with them so they could understand the book of mormon and build a testimony. WOW! Sister Stofferahn said she could see them in the temple together (: We were thrilled!

Well Saturday night we got a phone call. Turns out, I’M BEING TRANSFERRED! Wow – that came quick. Sister Stofferahn has been here 4.5 months and I’ve been here 3. Crazy huh. And I’m the one who got the boot! Goll dang… Stoff cried and cried; she hates trios. And getting 2 new? that’s cruel. But the pain doesn’t stop there… They took the car. THAT’S RIGHT! We wanted to be mission legends. So what did we do? We created the first sisters bike area. Our 40 day fast was very successful; we proved – through our faith, diligence, and killer quads – that summerwood is tough enough. So now it’s going to be a trio of sisters biking all over Summerwood (: I feel so bad for them… It’s about to get HOT.

So right now I’m in limbo. I have no home… No companion… no bed to call my own… So, sorry, no address right now besides the mission office!

Sunday we spent the day saying goodbye to members. They all wrote me little love notes to glue in my journal… It was so sad 😦 I brimmed, but never cried. I’m learning to control that. I cried all my makeup off when I left Humble, shed a few tears when I left Woodville, and didn’t cry at all now leaving sWood. SUCCESS. haha 

I’m just so bummed! I love this zone. The zone leaders are the best I’ve ever had! My DL is a little crazy… but we can deal with that. But I really, really, really love Sister Stofferahn. I really expected to be her comp for another transfer! :/ I’m so sad. But… I guess we do what the Lord needs us to do!

I have tons of pictures to send, so I’ll end this now… I miss and LOVE y’all so much! Thanks for everything!

 

 

Leave a Thought, Opinion, Impression...